Interview with Cuber : Andrej Karpathy a.k.a badmephisto


Inilah wajah seorang badmephisto

Andrej Karpathy, lebih terkenal dengan nick badmephisto. Cuber yang satu ini tekenal di dunia cubing lewat tutorial-tutorial yang mudah dimengerti. Tersebar di websitenya, badmephisto.com serta di channel Youtube badmephisto. Algoritma OLL, PLL dan F2L disitu hampir semuanya fingertrick friendly. Meskipun speednya masih di kisaran 16s, dia mampu memberikan tips dan trick yang keren di tutorialnya. Satu lagi yang membuat saya sangat mengagumi badmephisto, di hampir semua videonya dia tidak menampakkan wajahnya. Benar-benar berdedikasi untuk kemajuan speedcubing. Hanya sedikit orang yang mengetahui nama asli dari badmephisto. I’m your big fans!!

1. When did you start playing Rubik?
I started about May 2007.

2. Tell me about your cubing progress.
I improved to about 20second averages in 5 months but only very slightly since then, mostly due to lack of practice. I’d say I’m currently about 16 seconds average

3. What method do you use?
I use the full standard Fridrich method

4. Your occupation now?
I’m a graduate student in Computer Science, working in Machine Learning and Physics based animation. Goal is to make our robots agile enough so that they can kill us all 🙂

5. What are the event that you play
I do 3×3 cube and 3×3 OH. I can do everything else but I’m too slow to compete with a straight face.

6. What is your favorite event, why?
I enjoy 3×3 the most, not sure why. It gets my blood pumping! 🙂

7. What do you think about speedcubing in Indonesia?
I don’t have any opinion, I know quite a few of my viewers are from Indonesia so thanks for that! 🙂

8. What brands do you Cube?
I currently use the SE F-II cube from Cube4you.

9. What is your biggest cubing accomplishment?
Success of my YouTube channel is my biggest cubing accomplishment. It took a lot of time so I’m glad it’s appreciated.

10. Your Youtube channel (badmephisto) is so useful and famous, tell me about this story.
Well back in 2007 it was extremely hard to find any good tutorials on the Rubik’s Cube. Frustrated by this, when I finally understood how everything fit together in the F2L, I made a video that would help others after me. Then somehow that got popular, and I went from there.

11. Your website, badmephisto.com, is a great cubing reference for most of cuber. What do you think bout this?
I’m glad it’s helping people of course! Took some time to put together and I pay for the website monthly, so I’m happy it’s useful to others.

12. Would you come to Indonesia to play with us?
Most likely not, too far! 🙂

13. What you hope for Indonesian cuber?

I hope you get fast! Very fast, faster than me! I’ve had a few of my students overtake me already.

Salah satu tutorial di channel Youtube badmephisto

6 thoughts on “Interview with Cuber : Andrej Karpathy a.k.a badmephisto

Tinggalkan Balasan

