Interview with Cuber : Breandan Vallance


Breandan Vallance bersama Balazs Bernat di Czech Open 2009

Breandan Vallance, juara Cubing World Championship 2009 untuk event 3×3. Mempunyai penampilan yang rocker banget, rambut gondrong, keriting, baju nggak rapi, dan gayanya yang cool. Saat di Final WC09, dia mengalahkan Erik Akkersdijk (pemegang rekor dunia single 3×3). Pencapaian yang luar biasa. Berikut ini petikan wawancara saya dengan dia. Cekidot.
1. When did you start playing Rubik?
I can’t remember exactly, about 4 years ago.

2. Tell me about your cubing progress
Well i stopped practicing almost 6 months ago. But, before i stopped, i averaged around 9.5 seconds.

3. What method do you use?
Fridrich of course:P. But i have my own sort of F2L system which cuts down on rotations and reduces move count. I also know a few easy COLLs and some OLL skipping algs etc.

4. Your occupation now?
I’ve been taking the year off but i’m now looking for a temporary job. So i can get back into routine for when i start university in September

5. What are the event that you play?
I practiced 3×3 mainly but sometimes it got a bit boring. So i would practice some other events. I competed in 3×3-7×7, OH and magic.

6. What is your favorite event, why?
It depends what mood i’m in. 3×3 most of the time but 4-7 is also fun.

7. What do you think about speedcubing in Indonesia?
You guys improove very fast and are very good at Multi BLD:P

8. What brands do you Cube?
I used a type-F (original) but i’m not up to date with new brands

9. What is your biggest cubing accomplishment?
Winning WC09 of course:P. My best accomplishments unofficially are sub 9 avg of 12(3×3) and sub 30 PLL time attack.

10. Your attitude is so rock n roll. Hehe. Is this help you so on cubing?
Haha! I really dont think so. Maybe it somehow makes me more relaxed? or sth. I dunno, I doubt it xD

11. You are WC2009 Winner. What do you think when realize that you can beat Erik Akkersdijk on WC 2009 Final?
I had no idea what to think when i realized i won xD. It was too much for my brain to take in. It still hasn’t properly hit me,  i dont think. I hoped Erik would win actually, he was runner up at EC08 too.

12. What is your next target in cubing?
Well, i have one of the biggest titles already so if i compete again it will only be for fun. I don’t plan on practicing again. A world record would be nice but they’re all well out of my reach now.

13. Would you come to Indonesia to play with us?
I would like that yes:) Hopefully some day.

14. What you hope for Indonesian cuber?
I hope that you all have as much fun as i have had with cubing:)  

Breandan Vallance saat di Final World Championship 2009. Judgenya Ton ternyata. XD

4 thoughts on “Interview with Cuber : Breandan Vallance

Tinggalkan Balasan

